Welcome to Cupar and North Fife, with its rolling hillsides, farmland and coastal views. The area stretches from the Tay estuary and Lomond hills in the west to the unspoilt expanse of Tentsmuir forest in the east, and its centred round the charming market town of Cupar.

Discover the local history; visit arts festivals and watch artisans at work; eat locally grown produce; enjoy the area’s beautiful scenery; and explore its forests, hills and coastal path.

We hope you will find lots to see and do on this website.

Please check directly with the venues for opening times.

Places to visit


An ancient village, probably named after St Cyr, an early Christian martyr.

Look out for the provost with his tankard of beer. Ceres is home to the oldest highland games in Scotland. It is also one of the locations on the Fife Pilgrim Way, a new walking route which stretches Culross to St Andrews.


A Royal burgh since 1328, Cupar is a traditional market town with charming independent shops, cafes and restaurants. Visit the distinctive Victorian style bandstand, and the Angle War Memorial, unveiled baby Field Marshall Earl Haig in 1922. The Mercat Cross, with its iconic unicorn, contained a time capsule dating from 1897, now in the Heritage Centre.

To the north of Cupar, spot the 29-metre-high Hopetoun Monument, erected by on the Mount in 1826 in memory of Sir John Hopetoun, 4th Earl of Hopetoun,. Climb on top of the Mount for spectacular views.


A conversation village with 18th watched cottages, originally weaver’s cottages and the old school house. The roadside wall of the tomb of Sir James Melville of Halhill (1535-1617) has an unusual public exhortation in Scots (translation provided). Walk to nearby Newton Farm to see the Pictish Standing Stone.


Freuchie is most famous, which won the National Village Cup at Lord’s in 1985. French masons working on Falkland Palace lived here in 16C, and courtiers who had disgraced themselves were sent to Freuchie.


Visit the statue of double world Formula One champion, Jim Clark, tragically killed in a minor race in 1968.


A plague at the Masonic Hall commemorates Herbert Asquith, Prime Miniter from 1908. Stroll through Ladybank forest, mostly Scots pine with a lovely avenue of 150-year-ols beech trees.


The 16C Monimail tower in the village of Monimail is a remnant of a medieval palace of the Archbishop of St Andrews.


A beautiful medieval conservation village, lying at the foothills of the Lomond hills, and famous for its 16C renaissance palace. Walk the narrow cobbled streets, and enjoy the tearooms, and craft and gift shops.


Positioned on the Tay estuary, Newburgh has stunning views north to Angus. Find the sculpture of the leaping salmon on the shore, commemorating Tayside salmon fishing, which dates back to Pictish times. Newburgh is famous for its orchards, some of which date back to 1191 when Bennedicts monks from Abbeville in France planted trees around Newburgh. From Newburgh, follow he coast road along the estuary , past the remains of 15C Denmylne Castle, and through Balmerino and Wormit to Newport, enjoying beautiful views as you go.


Newport is the site of McGonagall’s Beautiful Railway Bridge of the Silvery Tay. Tragically the bridge collapsed one stormy night in 1879. The town also has an old ferry terminus and grand Victorian villas.

Tay Road Bridge

The Tay road bridge was opened by the Queen Mother in 1966. At the Newport end of the bridge, there is a memorial obelisk to the workers who died during construction. Look out for the ‘gateway’ sculpture by Sharon Averbuch, erected 2004to highlight the Fife coastal path.


An historic harbour located at the mouth of the river Tay just north ofTentsmuir forest and with attractive views across the Tay to the Broughty Ferry coastline.


Here you will find the memorial to the passengers and crew of the Burntisland train who died died in the Tay railway bridge disaster on 28th December 1879.